Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

The Moth, 10th Anniversary – POSTPONED

27th April 2020 @ 19:30 - 21:00 BST



Join the Society to celebrate the 10th birthday of The Moth, one of Ireland’s foremost art and literature magazines. Founded in 2010 by Rebecca O’Connor and Will Govan, The Moth features poetry, short fiction and art by established and up-and-coming writers and artists. Each issue also hosts two interviews – with writers such as Sally Rooney, Sharon Olds, Colm Toibin and Paul Muldoon. They also publish The Caterpillar and run several art and literary prizes, including one of the biggest prizes in the world for a single poem.


Will and Rebecca will regale you with stories about The Moth, which they run from their home in rural Ireland, and will be joined by a stellar line-up of past contributors including the novelist Thomas Maloney, former Moth Poetry Prizewinners Ann Gray and Abigail Parry, the winner of The Moth Short Story Prize 2019 Conor Crummey, and newcomers Mark Lawlor and Bryony Littlefair (who recently won a Moth Retreat Bursary).

‘Exquisitely designed and choc-a-bloc with exciting new artworks and wordworks.’Paul Durcan

‘If you want to keep your finger on the pulse, The Moth magazine is all you need.’Christine Dwyer Hickey


Copies of The Moth will be available for sale at the event.


Speaker: Conor Crummey
Conor Crummey

Conor Crummey’s story ‘Journeys’ was chosen by author Kit de Waal as the winner of the €3,000 Moth Short Story Prize 2019. Crummey, from Belfast, now lives in London, where he is a lecturer in public law at Queen Mary University of London. Follow Conor on twitter: @ConorCrummey



Speaker: Will Govan
Will Govan

Will Govan is co-founder and director of The Moth. He studied portraiture at The Heatherley School of Fine Art in London and paints at The Moth Studios in Cavan Town in Ireland. He had his first solo exhibition, Shark With Plunger & Other Paintings, at the Johnston Central Library in Cavan in July 2019 Follow Will on twitter: @WillGovan1


Speaker: Ann Gray
Ann Gray

The author of a number of collections including Painting Skin (Fatchance Press, 1995) and The Man I Was Promised (Headland, 2004), Ann was commended for the National Poetry Competition 2010 and won the Ballymaloe Poetry Prize in 2014.


Speaker: Bryony Littlefair
Bryony Littlefair

Bryony Littlefair is a poet and workshop facilitator living in South London. Her pamphlet Giraffe won the Mslexia Pamphlet Prize in 2017 and is out now with Seren Books. She was shortlisted for the inaugural Rebecca Swift Foundation Women Poets’ Prize in 2018 and in 2019 received the Moth Retreat Bursary Award. Follow Bryony on twitter: @B_Littlefair




Speaker: Thomas Maloney
Thomas Maloney

Thomas Maloney was born in Kent in 1979, grew up in London, and studied Physics at Oxford. His first novel, The Sacred Combe, was published in 2016. He lives in Oxfordshire with his family.



Speaker: Rebecca O’Connor
Rebecca O'Connor

Rebecca is co-founder and director of The Moth. She edits and designs The Moth and The Caterpillar. Her debut poetry collection We’ll Sing Blackbird was shortlisted for the Strong Shine Award and she is a recipient of a Geoffrey Dearmer Prize from Poetry Review. Her debut novel He Is Mine and I Have No Other was published by Canongate in 2018. Follow Rebecca on twitter: @RebeccaMoth


Speaker: Abigail Parry
Abigail Parry

Abigail Parry spent seven years as a toymaker before completing her doctoral thesis on wordplay. She has won a number of prizes and awards for her work, including the Ballymaloe Prize, the Troubadour Prize, and an Eric Gregory Award. Her first collection, Jinx, published by Bloodaxe in 2018, was shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best First Collection 2018 and the Seamus Heaney Centre First Collection Poetry Prize 2019. Follow Abigail on twitter: @ginpitnancy



27th April 2020
19:30 - 21:00 BST
Event Categories:
, , , , , , , ,


Irish Literary Society
Private: The Moth Magazine


The Bloomsbury Hotel
16-22 Great Russell St
London, WC1B 3NN United Kingdom
+ Google Map