Loading Events

« All Events

AGM – 11 June

11th June 2018 @ 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING, 11 June 2018, 7.30pm
Location: Irish Cultural Centre, Hammersmith

All current members of the Society are invited to attend and participate at the ILS AGM. The meeting is an opportunity for the Committee to report and be questioned on the performance of the Society, its plans and its financial situation. It is also an opportunity for members to offer their thoughts on the state of the Society, to seek election and to vote on resolutions. We hope to attract greater member attendance this year as the Committee will put to the membership a proposal to allow a significant change in the Society’s rules i.e. that we apply to the Charities Commission to form the Society into a Charitable Incorporated Organisation (CIO). Further information on how we have reached the decision to make this proposal will be given in a report by the Honorary Secretary, a summary of that report can be read here. If you are interested in seeking election to the Committee please contact the Honorary Secretary (irishlitsoc@gmail.com) if you would like further information about the duties and responsibilities involved. A form for proposing a member for election to the Committee can be found below.


1. Apologies
3. Minutes from 2017 AGM
4. Matters Arising
5. Honorary Secretary’s Report
6. Chairman’s Report
7. Treasurer’s Report
8. Membership Secretary’s Report
9. Report on proposed constitutional changes
10. Vote on constitutional changes
11. Election of the Officers & Committee for the ILS Season 2017-18, voting if
12. Appointment of Honorary Auditors
13. Plans for 2018-19
14. AOB

Members are invited to propose candidates for the election of Officers and Committee members for the ILS Season 2018-19. All candidates must be proposed and seconded by members of the ILS and the candidate must sign the proposal forms. Forms must be returned to the Honorary Secretary by 28 May (download the form here for more details).

The present Officers and Committee members are eligible for re-election. The Officers of the Society are the President, one or two Vice-Presidents, the Chairman, Deputy Chairman, one or two Honorary Secretaries, the Honorary Treasurer and the Honorary Membership Secretary. As directed by our Rules the Committee shall consist of the Officers and up to 6 other members, all of whom to be elected annually, except in the cases of the President and Vice Presidents who shall be invited to serve by the Committee. Three further members may be co-opted by the Committee during the course of a year


11th June 2018
7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Event Categories:


Irish Literary Society


Irish Cultural Centre, Hammersmith
5 Black’s Road Hammersmith W6 9DT United Kingdom + Google Map
View Venue Website

Trust Seal


See the Contact link at top menu to get in touch and find us. See the Membership Section for details on subscription.


The Irish Literary Society is a Charitable Incorporated Organisation (CIO) entered onto the Register of Charities with the Registered Charity Number 1193684.